About the Journal

AAMC Building

AAMC headquarters in Washington, DC

Academic Medicine is the official, peer-reviewed journal of the Association of American Medical Colleges. The journal serves as an international forum for the exchange of ideas, information, and strategies to address the major challenges facing the academic medicine community as it strives to carry out its missions in the public interest. The journal’s areas of focus include: education and training issues; health and science policy; institutional policy, management, and values; research practice; and clinical practice in academic settings.





Academic Medicine's Editor in Chief, David P. Sklar, MD

David P. Sklar, MD
University of New Mexico School of Medicine

Dr. Sklar began his five-year term as the journal’s editor-in-chief on January 1, 2013. For more than a decade, he has worked closely with Academic Medicine’s editorial staff, serving as a member of the editorial board since 2001 before being named associate editor in 2009.

Dr. Sklar has also served as a Robert Wood Johnson health policy fellow on Capitol Hill.  Previously, he held leadership positions at the University of New Mexico School of Medicine, including serving as the academic chair of the department of emergency medicine and as senior associate dean for clinical affairs. Dr. Sklar has been a member of the boards of directors of the American College of Emergency Physicians, the Council on Residency Directors of Emergency Medicine, and the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine. Widely published across a variety of disciplines, he has authored more than 100 peer-reviewed publications and brings to the journal a history of scholarly research in medical education, including the selection of applicants, diagnostic reasoning, medical errors, systems design, humanities, and health policy.


Deputy Editor
Debra Weinstein, MD
Partners Healthcare System

Associate Editors
Jan D. Carline, PhD
University of Washington School of Medicine

Steven J. Durning, MD, PhD
Uniformed Services University School of Medicine

Statistical Editor
Colin P. West, MD, PhD
Mayo Clinic


Editorial Board

David A. Acosta, MD
University of California, Davis
Health System

M. Brownell Anderson
National Board of Medical Examiners

Christopher S. Candler, MD
University of Oklahoma
College of Medicine

Denice Cora-Bramble, MD, MBA
Children’s National Health System

Jack Ende, MD
University of Pennsylvania
School of Medicine

Keisa Fallin-Bennett, MD, MPH
University of Kentucky
College of Medicine

Peter M. Fleischut, MD
Weill Cornell Medical College
New York-Presbyterian Hospital

Shiphra Ginsburg, MD, MEd
University of Toronto
Faculty of Medicine

Frederic W. Hafferty, PhD
Mayo Clinic

Edward C. Halperin, MD, MA
New York Medical College

Arno K. Kumagai, MD
University of Michigan Medical School

Lauren A. Maggio, MS (LIS), MA
Uniformed Services University
School of Medicine

Bridget C. O’Brien, PhD
University of California, San Francisco
School of Medicine

Laura Roberts, MD, MA
Stanford University
School of Medicine

Brian M. Wong, MD
University of Toronto
Faculty of Medicine

Comments are closed.